Where the Wilders Things Are

I confess to being the worst person to talk about politics or the pivotal happenings of the world. I’ve given up on the news unless it’s thrust in my face. I don’t generally care to hate society any more than I already do, and if you were to ask me about anyone’s policy on anything, I’d stare at you blankly.

Still, I can speak intelligently on most any subject I know little to nothing about because I can speak on the underlying human points, which requires more wisdom than details – and wisdom, I’ve got in spades (see; I could bullshit my way out of a heart attack).

For what it’s worth, though, when I do check in on what the world’s becoming as told on paper, I’m genuinely interested, and any concern I show is sincere concern for the human condition.

So I woke in the middle of the night to The 700 Club, which I don’t watch on purpose and never knew anything about beyond the name until I finally googled it one day to gain some insight into why everything I heard on it was ridiculous.

According to wiki-wiki-wah, it’s the flagship program of the Christian Broadcasting Network, which explained both what CBN stood for and why I felt like I was watching something geared toward people with religious tunnel vision.

This time, I caught it in the middle of a piece about Islam from the mouth of a man named Geert Wilders. This being where my lack of interest and knowledge of politics and world events comes in, I don’t know this guy from Adam.

Apparently, he’s some “right-wing” Dutch politician who, not surprisingly to me after listening to him, was brought up on and managed to dodge hate speech charges whenever it was.

Sparing you the birthday song, I’ll cut right to the cake…

The gist of this were’s wolf was that the nature of Islam is barbaric, that the Judeo-Christian culture is superior, that the flaws in Islamic culture, including but not limited to terrorism, stem directly from the teachings of Islam…

… that he’s against further immigration of Muslims into the Netherlands unless they assimilate and behave themselves, that multiculturalism is a dangerous liberal-born concept, that cultural relativism is false…

… and that Americans should take heed not to make the same mistakes the Netherlands has made by not seeing Islamization as a threat and by failing to concede that not all cultures are created equal.

Not to risk misrepresenting his delicate point of view, you may be better off not listening to what I just said and listening to him talk yourself, but he more or less took a dump on Muslims, give or take a few turds.

After he spoke, they cut back to Grandpa Munster Pat Robertson who reiterated the importance of taking Geert’s cautionary tale to heart and went on to comment, as if proving the point, that the reason America has reached this glorious state of happiness is because we’re a Christian culture.

Whereas the reason that places like the Middle East are shitty mcshitholes with problems inside of problems is because their culture is based on Islam.

And may I say, I do so commend Pat’s patriotically optimistic use of the word “happiness”. I’d be far more likely to describe America much the same as Sweeney Todd described London or, at the very least, not in any way that included the word happiness unless followed by the phrase dependent on the gluttonous consumption of drugs and alcohol to stave off a wanton lust for suicide.

I won’t make myself out to be Mother Theresa, so let me start by saying that the main difference between myself and people like this Geert fellow is what we base our opinions on. Not the opinions themselves.

A second difference, I think, would be that I find it difficult, in most circumstances, to be rational and still take an absolute stance on only one side of an issue at the same time.

Do I believe in cultural relativism? Depends. Do I support the multiculturalist view that different cultures can coexist equally and peacefully in a society? Depends.

Do I agree that Islamic teachings and law are directly to blame for the ills plaguing Islamic societies and in a way that differs greatly from the ills plaguing Christian societies like ours? Depends.

I can guarantee, then, that if I read Geert’s book, I’d be agreeing and disagreeing on every page, ultimately annoyed with whatever biased perspective he’s laden with that presses him to choose one position over another.

Leave a Reply

